So, it has been a little over a week since I reported to this place. Still trying to adapt and get used to things here. People’s alright. I am the head of my unit (and yeah ikr, say what?)

Generally, it feels awkward to be any kind of leader since I’m usually the follower (ya get my drift?). It was especially awkward when I had to sit at the head of the meeting table with all eyes on me, expecting me to give a wonderful speech.

So far, everything seems to be okay. So far. A little overwhelmed and lost at the things I have to do but I think I can get used to it in the future. As long as it involves minimal field work *chuckles*

And my brother is flying back from the US today!

Let’s see. He left his campus and headed to New York by shuttle and it took 4-5 hours? Then he waited for hours at the JFK airport. Took the midnight flight, which headed to HK, and arrived about 16 hours later O.o. Stopped over for a few hours before taking a connecting flight from HK to KL. Technically, the HK-KL flight should have just left and will arrive around noon. Then, more waiting until 3pm before he takes on the final leg of his journey back home.

Phew… This is why I am doubting if I’ll ever hop on a plane to go to US, unless I consume sleeping pills and sleep for the entire journey OR we do stopovers along the way. LOL! OR if someone invents a VERY fast plane that can reach the US in a couple of hours. I don’t like travelling, be it by air, land, sea, etc. I just don’t.

So, anyways, I was supposed to see a guy at the HQ yesterday afternoon. I waited for him for hours (fine… an hour) but he didn’t turn up at all! And he had the nerve to call again to tell me to go in one and a half hours. Doesn’t he know how far the office is? Crap!

And also, we’re facing a lot of funding problems. Everyone tells me that but what do you expect me to do? I’m still new and frankly speaking, I don’t even know what to do about that now.

On the other hand, there will be a public holiday on Tuesday next week (I LOVE PUBLIC HOLIDAYS!) and I will be taking leave from Thursday to go to KL over the weekends.

*sounds of plane passing by*

No seriously. I hear planes about every now and then. So sleepy. All I had to do so far was… attend briefings, meetings, seminars, etc. Other than the occasional help out at the specimen collections but we already have staff doing that. But I still feel bad if I do nothing, like now but then again, I have a meeting later.

Oh yeah. I somehow shut the door on my left middle finger last night. I didn’t even shut it with that much force but that excruciating pain brought tears to my eyes IMMEDIATELY and I ran it through cold water, which wasn’t even that cold to begin with, to try to sooth the pain. When that didn’t work, I just used ice. Anyhoo, the finger was numb and a little swollen. Seems alright now but it’s a little sore and typing was quite a chore last night.

Why am I even rambling about random things like these? I’m just waiting to drive off into the sunset to the HQ in about half an hour?

La la la… going to pick up my brother at the airport after work today! Haven’t seen him for 10 months, which isn’t that long but I still miss him around, despite chatting online or skype-ing.

And umm, I couldn’t resist and bought myself a new gadget. It’s not here yet and I feel that time is passing so slowly these days (after I placed the order). It’s only been a week but I kept waiting and anticipating the shipping confirmation email. Sigh… If you deliver it before I fly to KL next Thursday, I will be eternally grateful Smile

Life goes on with my double identities; an research officer AND a Kpop news writer. I do much prefer the latter. If it pays enough to feed me, I’d just sit home and write or attend the occasional Kpop event in Malaysia. Ain’t that the life?

Enough rambling. Time to find something to do? But I don’t feel like facing/entertaining the staff. Yawn…